Thunder

Standard

tearing through the dull grey midnight

thunder comes clapping with a loud bang,

with a flashy warning sent a second ago–

usually missed by the busy people.

_

little girls jump and scream

hide under covers at night.

or run for their mothers’ arms,

behind shut doors, to keep it out.

_

but I hadn’t missed the warning,

so I dash out to hear it.

the sonic booming and the mad hale

as clouds break out in war.

_

taking the pleasure of the party,

of the drunk birds and dirt swirls,

I wish I had wings of wax,

to watch it from some place closer.

_

but later those would bring me my death,

when Apollo’s jealousy would melt the wax.

Maybe Daedalus could help me somehow,

but then he’s too is lost in his wargames.

_

my mortal eyes cannot see,

if it’s Zeus out there with his lightening bolt

riding his chariot, chasing the anemoi thuellai.

or it’s great Thor with his mighty Mjölnir.

_

I would never know for sure.

I’m content watching from afar,

hoping, hoping, hoping,

one day I’ll be among the stars.

@cyril cliffette, 2012

3 thoughts on “Thunder

Leave a Reply

